The 12 Days of Christmas at the Beach

I just came in from a couple of hours on the beach, this gorgeous but a bit chilly, sunny December day. On my walk, I found 4 sand dollars and I thought that was cool since it is December the 4th (or is that tomorrow?!) I also witnessed a family staging and taking photos for their annual Christmas card. They had brought an upholstered wingback chair over the dunes, scattered shiny ball ornaments around in the sand, and took turns wearing a Santa hat and snapping photos. Their dog just wanted to play fetch and absolutely loved dashing into the cold waves retrieving, then running back to the thrower, dropping the stick, then shaking off, water droplets flying everywhere. I had brought my pen and paper and what came out was the following song lyrics for a beach version of “The 12 Days of Christmas” – enjoy!  All together now …

A Charlie Brown Christmas Tree on Holden Beach, compliments of Irene and a local decorator!

On the first day of Christmas my true love gave to me…

a conch shell from the beach.

On the second day of Christmas my true love gave to me…

two olive shells, and a conch shell from the beach.

On the third day of Christmas my true love gave to me…

3 crawling crabs, 2 olive shells, and a conch shell from the beach.

On the fourth day of Christmas my true love gave to me…

4 whole sand dollars, 3 crawling crabs, 2 olive shells, and a conch shell from the beach.

On the fifth day of Christmas my true love gave to me…

5 sandy kids.

4 whole sand dollars, 3 crawling crabs, 2 olive shells, and a conch shell from the beach.

On the sixth day of Christmas my true love gave to me…

6 waves a crashing, 5 sandy kids.

4 whole sand dollars, 3 crawling crabs, 2 olive shells, and a conch shell from the beach.

On the seventh day of Christmas my true love gave to me…

7 boats a shrimping, 6 waves a crashing, 5 sandy kids.

4 whole sand dollars, 3 crawling crabs, 2 olive shells, and a conch shell from the beach.

On the eighth day of Christmas my true love gave to me…

8 fish a swimming, 7 boats a shrimping, 6 waves a crashing, 5 sandy kids

4 whole sand dollars, 3 crawling crabs, 2 olive shells, and a conch shell from the beach.

On the ninth day of Christmas my true love gave to me…

9 sticks of driftwood, 8 fish a swimming, 7 boats a shrimping, 6 waves a crashing, 5 sandy kids

4 whole sand dollars, 3 crawling crabs, 2 olive shells, and a conch shell from the beach.

On the tenth day of Christmas my true love gave to me…

10 dolphin jumping, 9 sticks of driftwood, 8 fish a swimming, 7 boats a shrimping, 6 waves a crashing, 5 sandy kids.

4 whole sand dollars, 3 crawling crabs, 2 olive shells, and a conch shell from the beach.

On the eleventh day of Christmas my true love gave to me…

11 shells a clinking, 10 dolphin jumping, 9 sticks of driftwood, 8 fish a swimming, 7 boats a shrimping, 6 waves a crashing, 5 sandy kids.

4 whole sand dollars, 3 crawling crabs, 2 olive shells, and a conch shell from the beach.

On the twelfth day of Christmas my true love gave to me..

12 sea gulls flapping, 11 shells a clinking, 10 dolphin jumping, 9 sticks of driftwood, 8 fish a swimming, 7 boats a shrimping, 6 waves a crashing, 5 sandy kids.

4 whole sand dollars, 3 crawling crabs, 2 olive shells, and a conch shell from the beach.

Leave a Reply

